8 Mayoral Hopefuls in CCC Polls
Wednesday, 02 June 2010

Eight candidates will be vying for the post of Chittagong mayor in the June 17 city corporation elections.

The Chittagong district election office published the list of qualified candidates on Tuesday after withdrawal of candidature by some.

The candidates are ruling Awami League-backed ABM Mohiuddin Chowdhury, main opposition BNP-backed M Manzur Alam, Jatiya Party-backed Solaiman Alam Sheth and independent candidates Syed Sajjad Joha, Mohammad Ibrahim, Zane Alam, Mofazzal Hossain Bhuiyan and Rafiqul Alam.

Election officials said 249 candidates would contest for 42 general ward councillor posts and another 59 for 14 reserved councillor posts for women.

Assistant returning officer Mohammad Farhad Hossain told bdnews24.com that five candidates for mayoral post, 53 for general councillor posts, and seven for reserved posts had withdrawn their candidature till Tuesday afternoon.

He said elections symbols would be distributed among the candidates from 9am on Wednesday.

Jamaat-e Islami-backed mayoral hopeful Afsar Uddin withdrew his candidature and extended support to Manzur Alam on the last day of withdrawals.

Jamaat is the main ally of BNP, which jointly participated in the 2001 and 2008 national elections under the four-party alliance.

However, Solaiman Alam Sheth is still in the race though his party is sharing power with the ruling Awami League.

Eighteen mayoral candidates had submitted their nomination papers on May 18. After scrutiny, 13 were declared valid.

Likewise, 302 candidates for general ward councillor posts and 59 for reserved councillor posts for women were declared valid.

In the last CCC elections on May 9, 2005, there were 21 candidates for mayor, 304 for general ward councillor posts and 84 for reserved councillor posts.

Source: bdnews24.com

Comments Add New
Write comment
  We don't publish your mail. See privacy policy.
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.