Mayors, councillors-elect to be sworn in Sep 11
Friday, 29 August 2008


The four newly-elected city mayors and nine municipal mayors will be sworn in to office by Sep 11, an adviser said on Thursday.

However, local government adviser Anwarul Iqbal told reporters at his office that the final schedule and venue for the swearing-in ceremony were still to be decided.
Iqbal said the law stipulated the mayors and councillors-elect took oath within 30 days of the publication of government gazette.
The Election Commission gazetted the results on August 12 after elections to the four city corporations and nine municipalities on August 4.
Accordingly they have to take oath by Sep 11.
The adviser said chief adviser Fakhruddin Ahmed will would administer oath to the mayors-elect and the councillors would be sworn in by deputy commissioners.
He also said in line with the law the mayors and councillors–elect would have to fulfil two conditions for taking oath – they will need to give up party post and submit an affidavit on their assets.
Asked what would happen in case of a false affidavit Iqbal said they would decide later.

Comments Add New
Write comment
  We don't publish your mail. See privacy policy.
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.