England name unchanged squad for third NZ test
Tuesday, 03 June 2008

RETUERS, LONDON - England's selectors on Sunday named an unchanged 12-man squad for the third and final test against New Zealand starting on Thursday at Trent Bridge, Nottingham.

England won the second test at Old Trafford to go one-up in the series and national selector Geoff Miller said in a statement: "We were delighted with the way the team fought back to win the second test and there were some excellent individual performances from Andrew Strauss and Monty Panesar which helped turn the game our way.

"There are still areas in which we can improve on as a side. We are aware of the need to post bigger first innings totals on a more regular basis and that we have to bowl well as a unit in order to counter the strength of the New Zealand middle order.

"But overall we are pleased with the progress the team is making and have chosen the same group of players.

"We have won three out of our last four test matches and we will be looking to win again at Trent Bridge and take that momentum into the test series against South Africa later in the summer."

Hampshire bowler Chris Tremlett was 12th man at Old Trafford and is likely to miss out again this week.

England Test squad:

Michael Vaughan (Yorkshire) (captain), Tim Ambrose (Warwickshire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Paul Collingwood (Durham), Alastair Cook (Essex), Kevin Pietersen (Hampshire), Monty Panesar (Northamptonshire), Ryan Sidebottom (Nottinghamshire), Andrew Strauss (Middlesex), Chris Tremlett (Hampshire).

Comments Add New
Write comment
  We don't publish your mail. See privacy policy.
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.