Barrister Shafique elected SCBA boss, controversy mars secretary polls result
Friday, 02 May 2008

Dhaka, April 30 ( - Barrister Shafique Ahmed was elected president of the Supreme Court Bar Association with a huge lead over his nearest contender advocate Khandaker Mahbub Hossain, according to official results released early Wednesday.

Barrister Shafique won 589 votes, with Mahbub trailing behind with 431. But the polls results on the election of SCBA secretary ran into controversy.

Advocate Nurul Islam Sujan has been declared secretary of the lawyers' association with 518 votes after Wednesday's recount. His nearest contestant, Barrister Abdullah Al Mamun, finished six votes behind.

The sub-committee responsible for SCBA polls Tuesday night announced that Mamun had been elected secretary with two votes ahead of Sujan who won 517.

The early results promoted Sujan to demand vote recounting. Nizamul Haque Nasim, convener of the election sub-committee, announced the latest results after recounting the votes from 10.30am to 1.30pm Wednesday.

Mamun rejected the latest outcome and claimed that the constitution of the association does not approve vote recounting. In his instant reaction, Barrister Shafique, who was elected SCBA chief a second time for a one-year term, told "This is a victory for lawyers.

The election ran into snags but we have overcome them." "I'll try to help establish the rule of law and justice in the country," the lawyer said. The two-day election starting Monday saw the casting of 1,532 votes.

Some 1,780 lawyers have registered as voters for the election. The election scheduled for March 24-25 was earlier deferred to Apr 28-29, in the face of a government ban order, which was subsequently lifted.

Six candidates had contested for the two posts of vice president, two for treasurer, five for two deputy secretaries and 14 candidates against seven member chairs. Advocate SM Shafiqul Islam Babul bagged 739 votes to become one of the vice-presidents.

Amatun Noor Begum ended the race as the other vice-president with 533 votes. Nahid Sultana Juthi beat Abdul Baset 906 to 538 in the foray for treasurer. Two deputy secretaries are Fahima Nasrin who won the election by bagging 620 votes and Zahid Sarwar Kazal who clinched 589.

In the camp of members are Nurun Nahar (943), Md Shafkat Hossain (883), Jamil Akter Elahi (769), Nazibur Rahman (720), Mohammad Ali Azam (696), Sheikh Ali Ahmed Khokon (676) and AKM Nurul Islam (669).

Comments Add New
Write comment
  We don't publish your mail. See privacy policy.
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.