MSC regains top slot
Tuesday, 01 April 2008

After losing the top slot following a defeat against Old DOHS Club in their last match, Mohammedan SC regained supremacy in the Metropolis Premier Division Cricket League beating Bangladesh Biman by four wickets at the Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium (SBNS) Sunday, reports UNB.

In the day’s other matches, holders Abahani Limited, who suffered two consecutive defeats, notched a 105-run victory over Sonargaon Cricketers at the BKSP-2, BKSP defeated Kalabagan KC by 96 runs at the Narayanganj Osmani Stadium (NOS), Surjotarun Club beat Young Pegasus by 36 runs at the BKSP-1 while City Club outplayed Partex SC by two wickets at the Dhanmondi Cricket Stadium (DCS).

After the day’s matches, Mohammedan SC regained the one spot from Bangladesh Biman securing 18 points while Biman remained at 17 points from 10 matches. Abahani Limited is in the 3rd position with 15 points, also from 10 outings.

Opting to bat first at the SBNS, Bangladesh Biman posted 174 for 8 in 50 overs with left-hand national opener Tamim Iqbal top scoring 65 runs off 113 balls that featured three fours. Skipper Sanwar Hossain scored 2nd highest 31 runs.

Right-arm pacer Tapash Baishya claimed four wickets for 36 runs while spinner Suhrawardi Shuvo took two wickets. In reply, Mohammedan SC cantered to victory scoring the required 175 runs in 46.4 overs for the loss of six wickets riding on two unbeaten fifties from Rokibul Hassan and Shuvo.

Rokibul contributed not out 55 off 88 balls with one four while Shuvo made 54 off 90 balls with two fours to be adjudged man of the match. Right-arm national pacer Mashrafe Bin Mortaza scalped four wickets for 14 runs.

At the BKSP-2, coin-favoured Abahani Limited batted first to amass 325 runs for 5 in 50 overs with the help of three half centuries from Ziaur Rahman, Mahbubul Karim and Jahurul Islam.

Middle order Ziaur belted two fours and seven sixes to remain unbeaten on 60 playing 19 balls while one down Jahurul contributed 84 runs off 87 balls with five fours and five sixes. Opener Mahbubul made 77.

Sanjamul Haque and Fahim Muntasir bagged two wickets each for 66 and 84 runs respectively. Chasing the massive target, Sonargaon Cricketers were all out for 220 in 46.2 overs with opener Moshiur Rahman scoring 55 runs off 53 balls that included eight fours. Fahad Ullah Khan made 46 and Auntu 42.

Arafat Sunny captured three wickets for 43 runs while skipper Tushar Imran and Zia took two wickets each. Zia was later adjudged man of the match for his hurricane innings of 19-ball 60. Batting first after winning the toss at the NOS, BKSP posted a fighting 277 for 9 in 50 overs with skipper Mushfiqur Rahim hammering 145 runs off 134 that featured 11 fours and three sixes. Rahim was later named man of the match. In reply, Kalabagan KC were restricted to 181 for 8 in 50 overs with middle order Jamaluddin Babu scoring not out 48 off 92 balls that included two boundaries.

Pakistani recruit Shahbaz Butt made 40 and Fariduddin 24. Raihan Anas and Nasir Hossain grabbed two wickets apiece. Opting to bat first at the DCS, Partex SC, riding on Rashed Hanif’s 114 off 130 balls, scored 257 for 8 in 50 overs. Hanif, whose innings featured 10 fours and two sixes, was later adjudged the man of the match. Pacer Arafat Salahuddin scalped three wickets for 59 runs while Shafaq Al Jabir took two wickets for 40.

In reply, opener Imran Ahmed played a useful innings of 96 runs off 120 balls with 10 fours and a six as City Club reached victory scoring 258 runs for the loss of 8 wickets in the allocated 50 overs. Apart from Imran, opener Rasel Al Mamun was also impressive with his handy 52 off 33 balls that included seven boundaries.

Tarequl Islam bagged two wickets for 34 runs. At the BKSP-1, Surjotarun Club batted first to score 238 in the stipulated 50 overs with top order Shamsur Rahman contributing 67 runs off 114 balls. Lower order Nazmul Hossain blasted 54 not out off just 18 balls and was later named man of the match.

Sabbir Rahman took three wickets for 51 runs in nine overs. In response, Young Pegasus could manage 202 for all in 49.4 overs with Sabbir Rahman making 64 off 65 balls that featured seven fours and two sixes. Mohammad Yunus claimed four wickets for 20 runs while Monwar Hossain and Faisal Elahi took two wickets apiece.

Comments Add New
Write comment
  We don't publish your mail. See privacy policy.
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.