Court Sentences 21 BGB Mutineers
Saturday, 05 February 2011

A special court on Saturday gave the verdict in a mutiny case releasing two soldiers and sentencing 21 others of Rangamati 18 Rifles Battalion to different prison terms.

Special court-15 in Rangamati headed by Border Guard Bangladesh Chittagong sector commander Col Jahedur Rahman passed the verdict.

The 21 border guards were sentenced to different jail terms ranging from two-year rigorous imprisonment to the highest penalty of seven years in jail.

Besides, they were fined Tk 100 each.

Habildar Selim Reza and Subedar Major Shah Alam were released, according to the verdict.

The court gave the sentence of seven years imprisonment to Nayek Habibur Rahman, Lance Nayek Mominur Rahman, Shipahi Qamruzzaman, Shahin Ahmed, Sub-Nayek Zakir Hossain and Sub-Lance Nayek Kazi Enamul Karim.

Shipahi Rafiqul Islam, Lance Nayek Meer Mizanur Rahman and Shipahi Hadiuzzaman were sentenced to six years and six months, five years and five months, five years prison terms respectively.

The court sentenced four years in prison to Shipahi Abu Saeed and Aldeen Hossain. It sentenced Shipahi Abdur Razzak to three years and six months in jail.

Four BGB personnel were sentenced to two years imprisonment. They are: Habildar Ameer Hossain, Nayek Azizul Islam, Nayek Azhar Hossain and Habildar Monirul Islam.

The judges' panel of Special court-15 in Rangamati consisted of Border Guard Bangladesh Chittagong sector commander Col Jahedur Rahman, Lt Col Sayed Sayedis Saqlain and Maj Golam Mostafa Al Mamun.

Ejarul Islam Akand represented the attorney general and Lt Col Mehedi Hassan was the prosecutor in the case.


Comments Add New
Write comment
  We don't publish your mail. See privacy policy.
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.