BCB picks ex-rebels for tri-nation series
Saturday, 12 December 2009

Bangladesh Cricket Board has provisionally picked 'ex-rebels' Shahriar Nafees, Aftab Ahmed and Alok Kapali, banned last year from representing their country after joining the lucrative but unauthorised Indian Cricket League, for an upcoming tri-nation series.

It marks BCB's first selection of the top players, along with wicketkeeper Dhiman Ghosh, since the ban was lifted following their departure from the rebel ICL.

"I'm very happy with the news. I will try to perform better so that I can return to the national team," Nafees told bdnews24.com.

The four players are included in a provisional 26-member squad for the series beginning on January 4 in Dhaka, where Bangladesh will square off against India and Sri Lanka.

The BCB in September 2008 imposed a lifetime ban on the 'Dhaka Warrior' team players on their joining the controversial Indian league.

The team, led by former Bangladesh national team captain Habibul Bashar, later cancelled the agreement with the ICL as it failed to obtain the International Cricket Council's approval.

BCB lifted the ban on the rebels, but kept a six-month "cooling period" up to the end of December, after which they have no further bar to return to international cricket.

Chief selector Rafiqul Alam said: "Their cooling period will come to an end this month and there will be no ban on them from January 1."

"They have been selected based on their performance in the domestic cricket league. They ranked top in scoring runs. And Dhiman Ghosh has been included as wicketkeeper as Mushfiqur Rahim has suffered a shoulder injury," he said.

Alam said if their performance was satisfactory in the camp, they could be included in the national squad for the tri-nation series in January.

The provisional squad

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Capt), Shakib Al Hasan (V. Capt), Md. Ashraful, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain, Shahriar Nafees, Aftab Ahmed, Alok Kapali, Mushfiqur Rahim, Dhiman Ghosh, Tamim Iqbal, Syed Rasel, Zunaed Siddique, Mehrab Hossain Jr., Roqibul Hassan, Mahmud Ullah Riyad, Enamul Haque Jr., Nazmul Hossain, Naeem Islam, Imrul Kayes, Mahbubul Alam Robin, Rubel Hossain, Sagir Hossain, Dolar Mahmud, Shafiul Islam and Rabiul Islam.

Source: bdnews24.com

Comments Add New
Write comment
  We don't publish your mail. See privacy policy.
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.