Ansar-VDP lift women’s cricket title
Wednesday, 30 January 2008

Staff Correspondent

Bangladesh Ansar & VDP clinched the title of the Parachute Women’s Open Cricket Tournament defeating Ispahani Sporting Club by two wickets in the final at the Dhanmondi Cricket Stadium on Monday.

Batting first, Ispahani SC scored a moderate 114 for five in the stipulated 35 overs with opener Shuktara Rahman top-scoring with 28. Rumana Ahmed, Salma Khatun and Jahanara Alam all added an identical 17 runs.

Ansar bowlers contributed 23 extra runs to their opponents’ total. Khadiza Akhter picked up three wickets for 14 runs. In reply, Ansar and VDP had a bad start losing four wickets within 39 runs but opener Ayesha Akhter’s 21 and two 25-run innings from skipper Panna Ghosh and Tithi Rani steered Ansar and VDP to a two-wicket victory with 15 balls to spare.

Rumana Ahmed captured two wickets for 18 runs. Panna Ghosh was adjudged as the player of the final and Salma Khatun of Ispahani won the player of the tournament trophy.

Rafia Akhter Dolly, a member of the Bangladesh Olympic Association, distributed the prizes as the chief guest. Veteran coaches Altaf Hossain and Jalal Ahmed Chowdhury, former national captain Roquibul Hassan, former cricketer Shakil Kashem and BCB women’s wing chairperson Monowar Anis Khan were present on the occasion.

Comments Add New
Write comment
  We don't publish your mail. See privacy policy.
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.