Pakistan T20 World Champion
Monday, 22 June 2009

Pakistan lifted the World Twenty20 trophy beating Sri Lanka in the final at Lord's on Sunday.

Shahid Afridi fired an amazing unbeaten 54 off 40 balls to win it for the last T20 world cup's finalists with eight balls to spare. Earlier, Sri Lanka recovered from a disastrous start to make a decent 138-6 in 20 overs..

Afridi, Man of the Match, smacked two sixes and as many fours in his 40-ball knock and added 76 runs for the unbroken third wicket with Shoaib Malik, who remained unbeaten on 24 off 22 balls that included one boundary.

The pair hardly faced any trouble after openers Kamran Akmal and Shahzaib Hasan gave them a steady start adding 48 runs for the opening stand.

Shahzaib Hasan was the last wicket to fall, caught by Sanath Jayasuriya off Muttiah Muralitharan for 19, leaving the side at 63-2 in 9.1 overs.

Opener Kamran Akmal was stumped by Kumar Sangakkara off Sanath Jayasuriya for 37 off 28 balls with the scoreboard reading 48-1 in 7.1 overs.

Sanath Jayasuriya brought the first breakthrough for Sri Lanka with wicketkeeper Sangakkara stumping Akmal for 37 off 28 balls studded with four fours and two sixes.

Shahzaib Hasan was caught by Sanath Jayasuriya off Muttiah Muralitharan for 19, leaving the side at 63-2 in 9.1 overs.

Earlier, Sangakkara struck a well-composed fifty to lift Sri Lanka to a decent total despite a miserable start that saw them slump to 32-4 by six overs.

Sangakkara, batting at number four, made 64 not out off 52 balls studded with seven fours, but hardly got any assistance from the top order until Angelo Mathews came to the crease after six batsmen fell.

The Sri Lankan captain added 68 run for the unbroken seventh wicket with Mathews, who remained unbeaten on 35 off 24 balls that included three fours and one six.

Pakistan, the finalists of the inaugural meet, got off to a fantastic start with teenage pacer Mohammad Aamer getting rid of dangerous opener Tillakaratne Dilshan, who was adjudged the Player of the Tournament, caught by Shahzaib Hasan for a five-ball duck in the first over.

Abdul Razzak added to the misery removing Jehan Mubarak (two-ball duck), Sanath Jayasuriya (17 off 10 balls) and Mahela Jayawardene (four-ball one) in a row to reduce Sri Lanka to 32-4 in 5.3 overs.

Then, Umar Gul had Chamara Silva caught by Saeed Ajmal for 14 in his first over before Shahid Afridi bowled Isuru Udana for a five-ball one, leaving Sri Lanka at 70-6 in 13 overs.

But Sangakkara and Mathews kept their cool to change the scenario.


Comments Add New
Sajjad Hyder  - We are the Champions |2009-06-22 11:40:43
Being a Nation we were in need of such a moment such a great come back, we are proud on our players for bringing smile on our faces, I salute you all and Long Live Pakistan

Sajjad Hyder
Write comment
  We don't publish your mail. See privacy policy.
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.