AL to maintain associate organizations
Saturday, 11 October 2008

Clarifies Zillur

Staff Correspondent

Awami League acting president Zillur Rahman has clarified that though the party will not have any affiliate organisations it will maintain associate organisations.

He told reporters Thursday: "There is no scope of confusion regarding associate organisations of Awami League."
"There will definitely be associate organisations. However, there will be no affiliate organisations."
AL acting general secretary Syed Ashraful Islam told on Tuesday that Awami League would have no such organisations, they would become independent.
He also said that a final decision in this regard would be taken in Saturday's working committee meeting.
After the statement, confusion arose inside and outside the party regarding affiliate and associate organisations.
According to the new Representation of the People Ordinance, political parties cannot keep any affiliate or associate organisations.
After meeting with the leaders of all associate organisations of Awami League at his Gulshan home, Zillur told journalists: "Saturday's working committee meeting will decide in which way the associate organisations will exist."
The party has nine associate organisations: Mohila Awami League, Krishak League, Jatiya Sramik League, Jubo League, Chhatra League, Secchasevak League, Awami Ainjibi Parishad, Tanti League and Swadhinata Chikitsak Parishad.
Presidium members Abdur Razzak and Tofail Ahmed and AL leader Abdul Mannan were present in the meeting.

Comments Add New
Write comment
  We don't publish your mail. See privacy policy.
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.