Bangladesh News

Oct 18th
Home arrow News arrow Country News arrow BNP names 10 for EC talks
BNP names 10 for EC talks PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 21 September 2008

The BNP has named a 10-member team for talks with election commissioners on Saturday, a party standing committee member has said, reports

"Secretary-general Khandaker Delwar Hossain will lead the delegation at the talks," standing committee member Chowdhury Tanvir Ahmed Siddiqui told Friday night.
Siddiqui chaired the meeting that ran until 11pm Friday at the NAM apartment of Delwar.
The other members are: standing committee members R A Gani, Chowdhury, Tanvir Ahmed Siddiqui, Khandker Mahbub Uddin Ahmad, M Shamsul Islam, Mahbubur Rahman, vice president M K Anwar, joint-secretary general Nazrul Islam Khan, former MP Abdul Mannan and office secretary Rizvi Ahmed.
"BNP will demand lifting of the state of emergency, holding of the parliamentary polls ahead of all elections, scrapping of laws banning front organisations and others," Siddiqui said.
The meeting was attended among others by M K Anwar, Nazrul Islam Khan, Abdul Mannan, Joynal Abedin and Rizvi Ahmed.
The Election Commission on Sept 7 invited the BNP to the dialogue. But the party did not turn up saying it would not sit with the EC before the release of the Khaleda Zia from jail.
Khaleda, on her release from prison on Sept 11, announced that her party would sit with the EC for talks and take part in the upcoming polls.
BNP allies such as Jaamat-e-Islami and Islami Oikya Jote followed suit, and will meet the commissioners separately also on Saturday.

Comments Add New
Write comment
  We don't publish your mail. See privacy policy.
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.
< Prev   Next >