Bangladesh News

Jan 20th
Home arrow News arrow Country News arrow AL beats BNP in 8 of 9
AL beats BNP in 8 of 9 PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 07 August 2008

Municipality Polls

Desk Report

Awami League-backed candidates swept eight of the nine mayoral seats in Monday's elections to as many municipalities.

Local AL leaders Reazul Islam Zoarder Toton and Ramzan Ali Zia won the mayoral races in Chuadanga and Manikganj, respectively.

Toton bagged 25,592 votes in Chuadanga's 24 polling centres, beating Abdul Zabbar Sona by 7,097 votes

Returning officer and additional deputy commissioner Md Salahuddin Chowdhury told reporters that Ramzan emerged victorious with 16,208 votes in Manikganj's 23 polling centres. Nasiruddin Ahmed claimed 8,947 votes to finish second.

Two Awami League-backed candidates earlier clinched the mayoral races in Sitakunda and Golapganj municipalities.

Local AL leaders Shafiul Alam and Zakaria Ahmad Paplu won the mayoral seats of Sitakunda in Chittagong, and Golapganj in Sylhet, respectively.

In Sitakunda, Shafiul Alam won 12,170 votes in the 13 polling centres, gaining a landslide win over his nearest contender M Abul Kalam Azad with 4,213 votes.

Sitakunda Upazila Nirbahi Officer Abdur Rouf said that 21,287 people or 84.56 percent out of 25,171 registered voters had voted.

In Golapganj, Paplu won 5,421 votes in all nine centres, edging out his nearest contender upazila AL joint secretary Sirajul Jabbar Chowdhury who bagged 3,475 votes.

Golapganj Upazila Nirbahi Officer Khalilur Rahman told that 14,132 or 89.96 percent out 15,710 voters had cast votes.

Local BNP leader Jahangir Alam's was the first municipal mayoral win to be announced Monday as counting finished in Dupchanchia, Bogra.

Dupchanchia Upazila Nirbahi Officer Monirul Huda told reporters that Jahangir won 4,893 votes in the nine polling centres, with his nearest contender Nurul Haque gaining 2,684 votes.

Huda, the returning officer, said that 12,443 or 94.17 percent out of 13,213 voters had cast their votes.

Six people ran for Dupchanchia mayor, five for Sitakunda and seven for Golapganj.

According to unofficial results, Md Ansur Rahman, backed by the Awami League, won the mayoral race in Sripur Municipality in Gazipur. Md Nurul Islam finished second.

In Fulbaria of Mymensingh, AL leader Golam Kibria won a victory as municipal mayor over his nearest contestant Chan Mahmud, a leader of BNP.

Returning officer Sabirul Islam told reporters that Kibria bagged 3,692 votes followed closely by Chan Mahmud at 3,409.

In Naohata of Rajshahi, AL leader Abdul Gafur clinched 16,606 votes in the 14 centres to become the municipal mayor. BNP leader Makbul Hossain ended up with 8,795 votes in the foray.

In Shariatpur Municipality, AL leader Abdur Rab Munshi roared to a victory in the mayoral race, with BNP leader Nasiruddin Kalu trailing 2,150 votes behind.

Comments Add New
Write comment
  We don't publish your mail. See privacy policy.
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.
< Prev   Next >