Bangladesh News

Oct 22nd
Home arrow News arrow Sports News arrow Bangladesh cricket team return home
Bangladesh cricket team return home PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 23 April 2008

After a disappointing performance in the five-match ODI series and also in the twenty20 International, Bangladesh national cricket team returned home on Monday afternoon from Karachi, reports UNB.

During the Pakistan tour, the Bengal tigers had a scope to bury the recent memory of their wretched performances against the world’s top-ranked teams.

But they could not avail the opportunity and were whitewashed in the five-match ODI series and also suffered a huge defeat in the lone twenty20 match.

There was really no contest in the ODIs except the 3rd one, where Bangladesh team made 285 in reply to Pakistan’s mammoth total of 309 runs.

Talking to the reporters on arrival at the Zia International Airport, Bangladesh skipper Mohammad Ashraful said: “We were not able to cross the 200-mark during the matches against New Zealand and South Africa.
But this time, we crossed the 200-mark on three occasions.

This is a sign of total team improvement.”

Ashraful, who scored a total of 81 runs in five ODIs at an average of 16.20, told a questioner, he made “good start in all the matches, but could not convert those into big ones.

Perhaps, luck didn’t favour me. I was also run out on one occasion.

Meanwhile, the out-of-form skipper Mohammad Ashraful’s men will now get more than a half month before their next assignment in June at home.

A tri-nation ODI tournament will be held in the capital in June involving neighboring India, Pakistan and hosts Bangladesh.
Prior to the tournament, the national players will get the chance to prepare themselves in the Super League matches of the Metropolis Premier Division Cricket League, which is likely to begin in the first week of May.

Squad: Mohammad Ashraful (Captain), Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Vice Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Zunaed Siddiqui, Aftab Ahmed, Nazim Uddin, Shahriar Nafees, Shakib Al Hasan, Dhiman Ghosh, Abdur Razzak, Shahadat Hossain, Mahmudullah Riyad, Farhad Reza, Roqibul Hassan and Syed Rasel.
Comments Add New
Write comment
  We don't publish your mail. See privacy policy.
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.
< Prev   Next >