Bangladesh News

Jan 23rd
Home arrow News arrow International News arrow 3 BSP MPs disqualified for defection
3 BSP MPs disqualified for defection PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 01 February 2008


In an order that could have far-reaching implications, the Lok Sabha speaker, Somnath Chatterjee, has disqualified three BSP members of the Lower House from Uttar Pradesh on grounds of defection to the Samajwadi Party, reports The Economic Times.

Those disqualified by the speaker are Bhalchandra Yadav, Ramakant Yadav and Mohammad Shahid Akhlaque and, their seats in the House have been declared vacant.

While the speaker’s order, which is based on many evidences including ‘media reports’ about the three MPs making public statements against the party on whose symbol they had got elected to the House, gives a boost to the Mayawati-led BSP, it could also activate similar pending petitions against Congress MPs Natwar Singh and Kuldeep Bishnoi as well as SP’s Beni Prasad Verma.

The Congress has been seeking the disqualification of Rajya Sabha member Natwar Singh, who, besides openly attacking the party he represents in the Rajya Sabha, had also shared public platform of the SP many times.

Comments Add New
Write comment
  We don't publish your mail. See privacy policy.
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.
< Prev   Next >