Bangladesh News

Mar 17th
Home arrow News arrow Sports News arrow V-Day Cup kicks off
V-Day Cup kicks off PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 31 January 2008

Staff Correspondent

Title contenders Dhaka Abahani will face Badda Jagarani today in the inaugural match of the Protiti Pharma Victory Day Club Cup Football Tournament at the Bangabandhu National Stadium at 6:00pm.

Eight Dhaka clubs divided into two groups are taking part in the tournament.

Special Assistant to the chief adviser Mahbub Jamil will inaugurate the eight-team tourney as the chief guest. Major General (retd) Amin Ahmed Chowdhury, the adviser of Protiti Pharmaceuticals will be present as the special guest.

Organisers Mohammedan Sporting Club has taken all-out preparation to host an eye catching opening ceremony involving hundreds of schoolboys and girls.

B league champions Abahani will field an all local eleven with forward Robin and defender Sunny of Rahmatganj as the guest players. Star defender Shujon is likely to take the field for the first time after two years. His fitness will be keenly observed by all the local football lovers.

Senior Division outfit Badda, on the other hand, has two Nigerian attackers in Sunday and Dolle in their squad.

Mohammedan has invited goalies Shakil and Zia, veteran defender Jewel Rana and midfielders Faisal Mahmud and Monowar from Brothers Union and Chittagong Mohammedan's defender Shaikat in their squad. Nigerian forward Charles Figo is the only foreign recruit.

Another Dhaka giant Muktijoddha will miss veteran forward Moni and defender Motiur Munna due to injury. Brothers Union forward Manju and Sheikh Russel defender Mahmudul Hassan will be wearing the all red jerseys and forward Johnny of Chittagong Mohammedan is also in the squad. Arambagh's Ugandan attacker Iddi Badambuze is their lone foreign recruit.

Spectators will have to pay Tk 30 for the western gallery, Tk 20 for the eastern gallery and Tk 100 for VIP tickets.

Group A- Dhaka Mohammedan, Arambagh, Victoria, Youngmen's Club Fakirerpool

Group B- Abahani, Muktijoddha, Dhaka Wanderers and Badda Jagarani.

Comments Add New
Write comment
  We don't publish your mail. See privacy policy.
Please input the anti-spam code that you can read in the image.
< Prev   Next >